Walker, Muhonen, Barnes, Williams, Mayo Named To All-District Team; Reuter Coach of the Year

CLEVELAND, Tenn. — The District 5 AAA coaches released the 2019-20 All-District team and information for the upcoming district tournament at Walker Valley High School on Wednesday afternoon in a district meeting.

Anna Walker was the first person from Bradley voted onto the team by the other district coaches. Walker wrapped up the regular season averaging 16.6 points per game and pulled down 5.8 boards per game to lead the team. The senior post stepped it up in district games scoring 17.8 per game on 48 percent shooting in the 12 games. The Chattanooga commit is shooting 47.9 percent overall, 36.1 percent from the 3-point line, and 79.3 percent from the free-throw line during the season to go with 47 steals and 30 blocks.

Junior Anna Muhonen was the next person named for the Bearettes. Muhonen is averaging 13.2 points per game and matches Walker with a team-high 5.8 rebounds per game. The junior post does not back down against district opponents with 12.3 points and 5.7 rebounds per game during district play. Muhonen leads the team shooting 65.1 percent from the floor and is a perfect 4-for-4 from beyond the arc on the season. The junior has shot at a 72.5 clip from the charity stripe through the end of the regular season and leads the team with 31 blocks.

Alexis Barnes found herself on the team after averaging 5.7 points and 2.6 rebounds in the season for Bradley. Barnes rises to the occasion in district games putting up 7.0 points and pulling down 2.7 boards in district competition. Barnes has recorded 29 blocks on the year all while shooting 59.5 percent from the floor in all games. The post has also proved to be a 3-point shooter with a 42.9 percent success rate with shots beyond the arc and is second on the team in free-throw shooting making 77.8 percent of her shots from the stripe.

Jamia Williams was voted on after averaging 4.5 points and 2.7 rebounds per game on the year. The junior point guard leads the team with 2.9 assists per game and has a team-high 65 steals thus far. In district play, Williams has put up 5.4 points and 2.8 rebounds per game while bumping up the assists number to 3.0 a game. Williams has been consistent from the floor shooting 35.7 percent overall and 41.5 percent from the floor in district games.

Cambree Mayo rounded out the Bearettes on the All-District team. Mayo averaged 5.5 points per game to go with 2.5 rebounds and 2.5 assists per contest. The senior guard copped 53 steals on the season while shooting 32.2 percent from the floor and 68.4 percent from the charity stripe. In district contests, Mayo has averaged 5.5 points and 2.8 rebounds to go with 2.9 assists and per game and a team-high 28 steals.

Head Coach Jason Reuter was voted the District 5 AAA Coach of the Year for the first time in his career. Reuter led Bradley to their ninth consecutive regular-season title. Reuter is in his tenth season at the helm of the Bearette program and has amassed a 290-35 (.892) record and claimed nine straight district championships, eight of the last nine region championships, appeared in five state tournaments, three final fours, and has one state championship in the process.

For the ninth straight season, Bradley will be the No. 1 seed in the District 5 AAA tournament held at Walker Valley Feb. 19-24. The Bearettes open the postseason on Saturday, Feb. 22 as they take on the winner of the No. 4 seed McMinn County and the No. 5 seed Walker Valley on Feb. 21. Tipoff for Saturday is set for 12 p.m.

For all of the latest news and information be sure to follow the Bearettes on Twitter @BC_Bearettes and join us on the web at bradleybearettes.com

All-District Team: MVP: Madison Hayes (East Hamilton), Anna Walker (Bradley Central), Anna Muhonen (Bradley Central), Kara Williams (Cleveland), Peyton Oliver (McMinn County), Bailey Anderson (Cleveland), Mariah Person (Cleveland), Makenna Hayes (East Hamilton), Laney Harris (Walker Valley), Whitney Green (McMinn County), Dezah Lacy (East Hamilton), Eliziah Laboo (East Hamilton), Ashley Baxter (McMinn County), Alexis Barnes (Bradley Central), Jamia Williams (Bradley Central), Cambree Mayo (Bradley Central)

District Coach of the Year: Jason Reuter (Bradley Central)

District Tournament Seeds

No. 1 Bradley Central

No. 2* Cleveland (T-2 Regular Season)

No. 3* East Hamilton (T-2 Regular Season)

No. 4 McMinn County

No. 5 Walker Valley

No. 6 Soddy Daisy

No. 7 Ooltewah

*Tie broken by coin flip