Walker MVP; Williams, Muhonen, Barnes Named To District All-Tournament Team

CHARLESTON, Tenn. — Anna Walker was named MVP, and Jamia Williams, Anna Muhonen, and Alexis Barnes were all named to the 2020 District 5 AAA All-Tournament team.

Walker was named the MVP after averaging 27 points and 7.5 rebounds per game during the tournament for the Bearettes. The Chattanooga commit was efficient from the floor shooting 52.6 percent (20-for-38) overall and 52.9 percent (9-for-17) from 3-point range while going a perfect 5-for-5 from the free-throw line. Walker dished out five assists and came away with four blocks and a steal to lead the MVP charge.

Williams was named to the All-Tournament team after putting up six points and 4.5 rebounds a game while giving out a team-high 14 assists. The junior point guard took advantage of her shooting numbers going 4-of-7 (57.1 percent) from the floor and 60 percent (3-of-5) from beyond the arc to be given the honor.

Muhonen was the next leading scorers with 13 points per game to go with 4.5 rebounds. The junior post led the team in shooting with a 64.3 percent (9-of-14) performance overall to go with an 80 percent (8-of-10) outing from the charity stripe. Muhonen was second on the team with six assists to go with a pair of blocks and a steal.

Barnes rounded out the Bradley All-Tournament members with 8.5 points and 4.5 rebounds per game. The senior post went 7-of-12 (58.3 percent) from the floor and was a perfect 3-for-3 from the free-throw line. To complete the stat line Barnes was able to dish out three assists and come away with two blocks.

The Bearettes claimed their 10th straight district title with a 68-43 victory over East Hamilton just moments before the All-Tournament team was released seeing four Bearettes placed on the squad.

Bradley will be back in action on Friday night as they take on Cookeville inside Jim Smiddy Arena beginning at 7 p.m.

For all the latest news and information be sure to follow the Bearettes on Twitter @BC_Bearettes and join us on the web at bradleybearettes.com

2020 District 5 AAA All-Tournament Team

MVP: Anna Walker (Bradley Central). Jamia Williams (Bradley Central), Anna Muhonen (Bradley Central), Alexis Barnes (Bradley Central), Kara Williams (Cleveland), Megan Rouse (Cleveland), McKenna Hayes (East Hamilton), Madison Hayes (East Hamilton), Eliziah Laboo (East Hamilton), Laney Harris (Walker Valley), Peytyn Oliver (McMinn County), Whitney Green (McMinn County), Bailey Branham (Soddy Daisy), Amya Sutton (Ooltewah)